November 2011 Newsletter

I cannot count my day complete, ’til needle, thread, and fabric meet.

~ Author Unknown

Please subscribe to our newsletter or contact us at PaintingNeedle@yahoo.com for more information.

In this issue:

  • Artist Introduction
  • Article Review
  • Stitching Journal

Contemporary Artist Meagan Voigt – “Sleeping Fairy”

Meet Meagan Voigt – Artist

Ever since I was little I loved to draw. Around the age of 5 my talent surfaced in my drawing of faces. Throughout my school years, I worked on my technique as much as possible. I would sketch either a face out of imagination or the cute boy in class who I couldn’t take my eyes off of. In high school, I attended advanced art classes and was allowed to set my own curriculum. My hardheaded nature was apparent to my instructors, who realized I did not desire to draw the standard house or tree that was assigned to the class.

I learned that I had the ability to transfer a picture or object onto a piece of paper. I then started to look through magazines for the most beautiful or unusual people to draw. Probably because of my stubbornness, I won the Best Visual Artist Award my senior year.

In college I majored in art but didn’t like the classes and the monotony of sketching still life after still life. Therefore, I switched to a business degree to eventually be able to maintain a living and paint and draw on the side.

My first real painting was a rendition of a Maria Callas painting my mom had seen of a beautiful, regal woman. I changed the colors to be more vibrant and eye-catching and used my sister as the model. After my mom saw this painting, she wouldn’t allow me to stop painting, ever! I covered every wall with paintings to supplement her art collection. This art collection at home allowed me to extend my services outside the home, where my work was rewarded.

Now, I work as a financial analyst for an energy company to pay the bills, but also squeeze out as many paintings as I can to bring other people’s homes to life.

Visit my website for more information about my artwork.

Contact Virginia at PaintingNeedle@yahoo.com for information about counted stitch patterns based on my art.


Article Review – The Meaning of Stitching Time

I just read an article Beyond the Punch-Clock Life: The Tyranny of Modern Time II. Interesting article.

What does this article have to do with stitching? Think of stitching as a way of reclaiming your sanity and your world. In our busy, over-scheduled lives, there is very little time to let your hair down, relax, get quiet, and slow down. The quiet times in life are times of reflection and rejuvenation. When these times are compromised and filled, life can feel like a treadmill – never ending. But when you take a moment to settle and slow things down, your life can become more peaceful and feel more real and worthwhile. Stitching gives me this quiet, reflective time in my life.

When I stitch, I’m not on the treadmill; I’m making something lasting and beautiful; I see the progress of my stitching, inch-by-inch; I relax and sit still, which encourages conversation and family time. I hear the birds, see the chipmunks, and notice the flowers. I also notice others around me slow down a bit and want to make something themselves. At the end of my hectic day, I stitch. It brings balance and peace to my life. I don’t feel like I have to keep up with a schedule because my schedule becomes the creation of a work of needleart that will endure longer than me. Plus, the needleart becomes something my children and family can appreciate as something I made with love in every stitch to remind them how much I love them. They can see the best of me by the art I leave behind.

But, I’m not going anywhere soon. I have others to mentor, patterns to create, dollars to earn, and lots more to do in my busy, scheduled life. But it’s the stitching time that allows my heart to thrive.


Stitching Journal – An Introduction

A stitching journal can provide generations of your family with information about you. Some of your stitching is done to last and preserve the moment. Every stitch is stitched with love and special care.

I wish I had a journal from my great-grandmothers stitching. It might provide information on where she was when she stitched. What she was thinking. Maybe even thoughts about the baby she was stitching for, my grandmother. Her travels were full of stitching and she traveled the world. Her stitching filled in the waiting time – the time between ports. I would love to know where she went and what she did to fill her time on her travels.

Stitching brings me serenity. During these times I think about my family and the memories we share. If I weren’t stitching, I probably wouldn’t be thinking about these things. What a treasure to be able to share these thoughts with those who treasure your stitching in future generations.

Traditionally we think of a journal as a hand-written document. It doesn’t have to be. It can be spoken. It can be a video. Technology makes it easier and more personal to create the journal. Plus, you can add pictures of your progress and talk about why you think it is special or unique. You can show your progress and your special area where you settle in to do your stitching. This is so personal and provides a window into your world.

Some ideas for you to include in your stitching journal:

  • Who are you?
    • Where do you live?
    • How old are you?
    • What is your lifestyle?
    • Daily schedule?
    • Do you work outside the home?
      • Doing what?
    • Do you have any animals?
    • Include a picture of yourself, your animals, your stitching area, some of your past projects.
  • What do you like to stitch the most and why?
  • How long have you been stitching?
  • How did you learn to stitch?
  • How do you pick your patterns?
  • How do you display your finished pieces?
  • What is your favorite thing about stitching?
  • Do you stitch with others?
  • Do you like to talk stitching with others?
    • What topics are of the most interest to you?
  • How do you organize your stitching projects?
  • What is your inspiration for stitching?
  • How does your stitching fit into the rest of your day, work, projects, family life, other?
  • How many projects have you completed?
    • Where are they now?
  • How do you inspire others to stitch?
  • Other hobbies?

Some topics for your current project:

  • Why did you choose this project at this time?
  • Who are you stitching it for?
  • What do you want to tell someone through this project?
  • Do you have a message for your great-great-grandchild?
    • What do you want him/her to know about you?
    • What do you wish for him/her?
  • What memories does this piece bring to you?

Let your stitching journal leave a legacy for all who treasure your stitching. Every piece tells a story. Make sure your story is included.


Leave a comment